Showing posts with label General Training. Show all posts
Showing posts with label General Training. Show all posts

Monday, July 6, 2009

Shhh, it's a secret

Ok, first, I've been a bit lacking the past couple of weeks on posting. I apoligize. My counterpart at work has been gone on vacation so my workload has increased. So between work being nuts, being in a fairly critical time in my HIM training and seemingly travelling with the family every weekend on short trips something had to give. And, unfortunately my friends, the blog lost that battle.

So not only have I been teasing you with a secret but I have also been ignoring you all. How rude am I? lol Let's see if I can make it up to you.

Here are the quick workout facts to date. I have continued my build phase towards Steelhead. I am currently 4 weeks away and feeling pretty ok with my fitness. This coming weekend is Interlochen. This was the first tri I ever attempted and this may be the last year I race it. I think next year I am going to be trying some different venues and race management companies. This is another 3 Disciplines race and I have just grown tired of the constant issues and excuses. I felt like they were better at Motor City and I have hope for Interlochen but it's just time to try some new events next year. My race expectation for Interlochen is another PR. I really feel ready to break the 2:55 mark. This is a fast fairly flat (1 small hill on the outbound leg of the bike and one HUGE hill at the half way point of the run) fast (the bike is typically into the wind on the way out and with the wind on the way in) race. My ultimate goal would be 2:45 but that will require some serious buckling down on my part. I fully expect a sub 2:55 effort on this one. Anything less will be a definite disappointment.

Ok enough of that drudgery. I have been holding out on you all for the past few months and especially the past 3 weeks. This past spring I came across an oppourtunity to participate in a research study through Michigan State University. What prompted my desire to participate was the chance to have a real VO2max test! I initially thought it was at no cost to me. Boy was I wrong! it may have been no monetary cost but the physical effort to participate in the study cost a ton, haha. I used to think lab rats had a pretty good life. 3 square meals a day, lodging, a little exercise..... how bad could it be? Let me tell you, I have grown mentally and physically participating in this study. I found out about 3 weeks ago that I had been accepted into the study. The study is being conducted by Clemens Drenowatz, a Ph.D. candidate in their kinesiology dept. This is a pre-study for his doctoral dissertation. He is studying the validity of the Sensewear Armband® at high intensity exercise. (I should have paid more attention that statement when I signed up, haha, high intensity should have set off some alarms somewhere) For the study I will be doing 3 separate test procedures. I have completed the first two as now. I am scheduled to complete the 3rd and final test procedure Wednesday evening, this week.

So, on to my Craig the lab rat report. For my first visit I met Clemens at the IM Circle facility (my second test was there as well). We chatted a bit and I got to listen to all the disclaimers and legal crud. Then I got to sign all their waivers saying I wouldn't sue if I died, etc... Hey I'm a triathlete afterall, I'm used to signing my life away so what the heck, lol... Then the fun began.

Body composition testing and VO2Max test. The results here would establish a baseline for the next 2 visits and establish effort level percentages for future use. The first picture is the "bod pod" used for determining body composition (read that as how much fat does Craig have) What an eye opener that was. The device uses air pressure to determine exactly how much bone, muscle, fat, etc.. you have in your body.
I found out I'm a nice healthy 24% body fat, not a surprise but now I also was shown that number translated to 40 pounds of fat!! That number was an eye opener. Wow! It sounds really bad when you put it that way, lol. Anyways that was only the begining of the fun. We got to get standing heart rate, height, weight and blood pressue as well. The second picture is of Clemens, standing next to the open bod pod. You really feel a bit odd sitting in there while they run the test.

Enough of the easy stuff, lets go torture Craig now. The next picture shows me all suited up in a portable VO2max mask. It communicates wirelessly with a laptop to give them all my data realtime. The last visit of the study is a 30 minute outdoor run wearing this sexy Fighter Pilot getup, so to keep the study consistent I get to wear the portable unit for all 3 phases. Yippeeeee! In the week before the VO2max test I read somewhere that it takes a motivated individual to do the test. I would like to add slightly demented, masochistic individual to that statement.

The test went like this. Gear Craig up, put him on treadmill walking at 3.5 mph for 3 minutes lulling him into a false sense of comfort and ease. Increase speed to 6mph for 1 minute, then 7mph for 1 minute then when he's just about comfy, start torturing him by setting the incline at 1% and increase that incline .1% every 10 seconds until Craig falls off the treadmill, jumps off the treadmill or dies, which ever comes first lol. I managed to hang on (figuratively, because as soon as you grab the hand rails the test is over) until 10.5% incline for a total test time of around 10 minutes. The last picture is of my relieved face once the test was over.

I managed a VO2max of 52 and a max heart rate of 194 (holy cow! really 194) So much for the 220 minus your age rule, haha

Now that I have written a book for today's post, I think I'll wait to tell about my second visit until later. This has been a very cool experience and I have gotten to meet some very cool people at Michigan State. I must have something wrong with me though because I have volunteered to be tortured again in the future for other studies if they want me. I am now officially a college lab rat. But, I get so much cool data to help me tailor my training by out of it.

Well, I hope everyone in the U.S.A. had a great 4th of July weekend and thanked a serviceman or woman somewhere for their sacrifices for our country.

Keep on tri-ing....

Read more...

Thursday, May 21, 2009

I feel you wind....

Thank you, for making me not take todays ride for granted.

Thank you, for only blowing the sweat into one eye at a time when you were crossing me.

Thank you, for not letting me rest even on the down hills on the way out.

Thank you, for blowing harder just as I got to the top of that really long hill so I couldn't rest and recover.

Thank you, for making it hurt just a little extra so I can better learn how to embrace that pain during a race.

Thank you, for challenging me to put the effort in even when I wanted to take it easy.

Thank you, for shifting as I turned for home so I couldn't enjoy your push quite as much.

Thank you, for helping with the 35mph thrill ride on that big down hill.

But most of all...........

Thank you, for making me appreciate those days when you aren't there.

Read more...

Tuesday, May 12, 2009

And so it begins.....

Somehow my triathlon season has suddenly snuck up on me. Now don't get me wrong, I feel plenty ready for this weeks race. (more on that in a minute) This off season has just flown by. I feel like I have maintained my aerobic fitness this off season. That was my primary goal. I also committed to riding my mountain bike outdoors on a regular basis this winter. Again, mission accomplished. I forced myself to put in over 300 miles on the indoor trainer in February with the hope of jump starting my fitness for this season. Why did I do these things instead of taking an extended break this winter? Every race last year left a bitter taste in my mouth from a fitness standpoint. I had the heart but I felt like my body let me down more often than not. I have committed to not having that be the case this year. I want to finish strong and have legs left for the run this year. I may never run fast but.... I can be fresh enough to run strong off the bike. With that in mind I have focused on bike fitness more than anything this winter. I stayed out of the pool, my first love, until April and hoped I would not lose the main edge I have at these races. After last week, I don't think that will be a problem. Bottom line, I feel GREAT about where I am right now at this point in my training.

Last week I turned 42. It didn't even faze me this year. I feel better than I have in many years physically and I think that helps. Once again I celebrated by completing the bfit birthday challenge. You celebrate your health by swimming the first number of your age in either yards or miles depending on your ambition, you run the second number of your age (and if its a zero you get to do 10 miles) then you ride your entire age in miles. This was a challenge started by Roman Mica over at http://www.bfitbday.com/ . I completed it last year and decided to continue the trend this year. I set the goal of doing everything in miles (yes the swim too) and to complete it within a 24 hour period. I can report, after the fact, that I was successful. I began Thursday evening after work with a little 4 mile swim (2 hours 12 minutes, 26 minutes faster than last year, so much for lack of swim fitness haha). The next morning I ran 2.5 miles (sorry, I'm an over achiever) in 21:43 and that afternoon I hoped on the bike and cranked out a 42 mile ride in 2 hours 43 minutes. All in all it took me 5 hours 16 minutes 43 seconds. I cut 15 minutes off my time from last year and ran and rode one more mile each! Who says you can't get better as you get older, lol. After all that effort in a 24 hour period, the fact that I was not sore and could have trained this weekend (I took it off to celebrate my birthday and have one last hurrah before I get serious with my training) I feel like I am more than ready for this weekends race, fitness wise. One interesting note from my swim. I found it quite interesting that the longer I swam, the stronger I felt (until about the 3.5 mile point, then it was a suffer fest for the last 800 meters). I never once felt that last year. I hadn't felt that since the days when I swam competitively in high school. I'll be interested to see if that carries over into my season as my races get longer.

This coming weekend is my first ever Xterra event. I'm dong what they call a Sport race (pretty much a sprint distance for us roadies) It's a 500 meter swim, 10 mile mountain bike ride, 3 mile trail run. Just a fun little race to kick my season off right. Also, I recently found out it's one of 2 stops for the Xterra pros in Michigan this summer and both Melanie McQuaid and Conrad Stoltz are scheduled to race. (for those who don't know they are the Female and Male reigning Xterra World Champions and both won their last race a couple of weeks ago) I can't wait to observe them and see how they do things for race prep, etc that an average age grouper like me can learn to from. I have no expectations for this race other than to finish strong. I also get to race for the first time as a RACING GREYHOUND in my awesome team kit. I'll see if I can't manage a pic or two for the race report. I'm going unsupported (read solo, alone, sans family) to this race so pictures might be hard to come by but we'll see. I'm training right through this race as I am into my build period in my Half Ironman training, 12 weeks out and officialy trying to follow a plan this year where every workout is mapped out from now through Aug 1. We'll see how that works, haha.

Ok kiddies, that's all for this week unless I get the urge to write more before Sunday. So until my first race report of the year, next week. Train smart and work hard!

Read more...

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

The week before the week....

And now the anxiety has started to settle in a bit. I have started to work on my Steelhead 70.3 race plan, pacing strategy and equipment prep list. Now, I am not a nervous person by nature but the closer this race gets I suddenly find myself getting nerved up a bit. Yesterday I found out my bib number and starting wave (bib 1754, wave 11). Suddenly it is not about talking, it is real and it is about doing! I know my fitness is there to complete this race, that is not the issue here. I think what it all boils down to is this. Last December after going through my shoulder surgery, I signed up for this event even before I could lift my arm above my head. I wanted a goal in front of me that scared the crap out of me so I would not just go through my physical therapy but I would push my physical therapy and come back stronger than ever. Call me crazy but that is how this guys works, haha. Well, now that big scary goal is almost over and yes my shoulder is fine, yes I am physically fit enough to do it, but I haven't made any major goals beyond this one. It is like this is the end of a great big long journey and I have no idea what lies beyond it. Well all that stuff and this is the biggest freaking race I have ever been in, in my life!!

Once Steelhead is over I have a couple of product reviews I plan to do. One I plan on doing will be about my experiences with a can't live without product called Body Glide. In the interest of full disclosure, I was sent a couple of sticks of it last week to write a review. On a personal note, I already love the product so it won't be hard to write about. If anyone out there has any other products they would like me to try just let me know. I also have another fun project involving work that I will be announcing shortly that everyone here can follow along with. So, I guess I have some things to look forward to after Steelhead after all.

As for my review of the Interlochen race. I have gone back and forth on what to actually say about that event. I love the race venue. I love camping in the State Park which hosts the event. I think the course is a good one and very challenging. Unfortunately I have a lot of negative feelings about the race organizers. I don't want to use this forum to air a bunch of negativeness and I surely want to encourage anyone who has thought about doing this race to go do it. Believe me the positives far outweigh the negatives in this case, for me. I have heard many things I did not witness from this race. The only thing I will say is this. 3 Disciplines as a race company works their rear ends off to put on a quality race. I am, however, tired of excuses and disappointment at everyone of their events. They have been in business long enough to get it right EVERY time they put a race on. Enough excuses. In this case they advertised "tech T's" for anyone registered by a certain date. There were no "tech T's" they had "moisture wicking" tshirt's and not a consistent message from the volunteers. Some people were told there weren't any "tech T's" and some were given the moisture wicking line. Either way most people know the difference who run these races. They ran out of finishers medals long before I even crossed the finish line, we'll see if it show in the mail like they said it would. Lots and lots of other little stuff at every one of their races. If your budget is that tight Kenny, then you need to raise your prices, plan better, cut costs or stop letting so many people sign up the day before or day of a race! You could even put a cap on the day of day before registrations so you don't go over your available capabilities. I could go on and on about the petty things that annoyed me at this and every 3 Disciplines race but I will stop for now. I will continue to do their events but I am thinking that next year I will try a couple of other ones for a better comparison. I have been told there is a huge difference in quality of race organization so we will see. In the mean time, I am already planning my return to Interlochen for next years race.

Until later, happy training and everyone needs to go on over to the Kodafit blog and tell him congrats on his new addition in his family that should be arriving today.

Read more...

Monday, June 30, 2008

Ok, where to start this week. This post will cover last week and this week due to the short holiday week. I am off Work for the July 4th holiday starting on Thursday (July 3rd) through Sunday (July 6th). This is the last big week for me before my next race. The Interlochen Triathlon in beautiful northern Michigan. This was my first ever triathlon a year ago and I have a LOT of friends doing this triathlon this year. Last year we had 10 of us who did this tri, this year we have around 20 of us that I can think of. We are planning a long weekend of camping and friendship. I will again be doing the Olympic distance in prep for my half Ironman a few weeks later. More on all of that next week.

Training, When we last left our super hero he was ruminating on his humiliating lack of fitness on the bike and vowing to make a come back to defeat the evil forces of wind and gravity. haha well maybe not quite that dramatic but hey, it is my blog and if I want to embellish I have the artistic license to do so. But I digress. I have made the bike a major focus in the past 2 weeks and I am starting to see the fruits of my labor. Saturday I took a couple hour trip west to the Grand Rapids training camp, also known as my wife's friend Tammy's house, and got to ride in 15-30mph winds over some of the hilliest terrain I've ridden in a long time. I am yet again reminded why it seems that the winners of every triathlon, I have raced, always come from the Grand Rapids area. They have the biggest hills to train on!! If I had that for my daily riding enjoyment and torture I would be so much better. I managed a 2 hour ride and only made it 34 gut wrenching, smile plastered on my face miles. I am not kidding people passing my must have thought I was on something, I could feel myself smiling constantly. It was a great test and my legs felt great afterward. A week ago I ran my 11 mile trail run around the state park. This is my litmus test of sorts. I feel like if I can run that trail run solid, then flat pavement should be a cake walk. I ran it my fastest time yet in 1 hour 48 minutes and I wasn't wiped out for the rest of the day. I know my fitness is getting up where it needs to be now.

On the nutrition front, my plans for Steelhead are starting to take shape. I'll be using Interlochen as the final test for my Steelhead nutritional strategy. So far, I've been testing Hornet Juice and Cliff Shot Blok's. Last week my Infinit order arrived and after a couple of longish rides with it I am definitely adding it to the race day strategy. It has the right mix of carbohydrates, protein and electrolytes. The flavor is tolerable and growing on me. But, most of all I am having no cramping issues during the tail end of long bike rides and I feel physically good even after harder efforts. I've had no GI issues from it as well, which is a major bonus. Next week I'll layout my Interlochen "real life" test for nutrition.

Ok, this coming holiday weekend I will be off to either a northern Michigan training camp location or back to the Grand Rapids training camp. Either way I plan on getting lots of riding and running in with some open water swimming along the way. Look for a big jump in mileage this week as it is lots of time off coupled with my last big build week before Interlochen. I'm hoping to build this week, mini taper/recovery next week before the race then train hard right off Interlochen into another week and half build with a week and a half taper for Steelhead. The next month will be tough but the week before Steelhead will make it all worth while.

So, for all you U.S. folks out there have a great 4th of July, take a moment to thank someone in our armed forces for making the sacrifices they do for our freedoms we enjoy. For everyone regardless of nationality let's all try to perform at least one random act of kindness in the true communal spirit of triathlon over the next week.

Read more...

Friday, May 30, 2008

Here we go....

As I sit here I have just realized that the season kicks into high gear now. I have officially registered now for the Motor City Triathlon, Olympic Distance, in Detroit on June 15th. (Happy Fathers day to me). In the next 2 weeks I am running a cross country 5k this weekend and a flat, fast 5k next weekend. Then, the week after that is my first triathlon of the year. Holy cow!! Time to kick the training up a notch I guess. I am planning on doing the Interlochen Triathlon again this year although I'm bumping up to the Olympic distance there as well and 3 weeks after that is the Whirlpool Steelhead 70.3 Half Ironman in Benton Harbor. I am planning on training through Motor City and Interlochen with no taper. I am just using those events as race practice for Steelhead. I am a firm believer that you truly learn to race by racing. You can practice transitions, you can practice nutritional strategy, you can practice pacing but until your adrenaline is pumping and your competitive instincts are boiling you just don't know how you'll react, adapt or overcome. You learn those traits toeing the line, looking fellow competitors in the eye and finding out just what you are made of.

As the season gets going now, I'll try and be a bit more diligent again about keeping this blog up. I'll try and talk more about my training and goals. I'll make sure I post my race reports as well as an internal evaluation of each races effort. I go through this race evaluation after each race to realign future race goals and strategy or even change my training focus if needed. I feel it is important to do this while the race is fresh in your mind. I have been teaching my son to do this after each of his 5k's and I can already see him starting to race smarter as well. I'll also try and post some more equipment reviews shortly. I have a new swim suit on order from TYR, I've never tried their brand of suit so this will be interesting.

So, I guess that is all for the moment. Check back soon for this weekends 5k race report.

Read more...

Tuesday, May 13, 2008

Happy Birthday part 2

Just a quick update on my B-Fit birthday challenge. I wrote last Friday that I was getting ready to finish my challenge. The challenge as a whole was harder than I anticipated in some ways and in others, I felt like, I exceeded my own expectations. I don't for one second regret doing the challenge or attempting to go for the virtual gold in this case.

I would not recommend a 4 mile swim all in one session to just anyone but for me it was very much a personal challenge and needed breakthrough. I had not really "tested" my shoulder since my surgery. Oh I've worked out and I given myself pain and I've worked out through pain but I had not just sucked it up and pushed through the pain, around the pain and with the pain the way I did Thursday during the 4 mile swim. And you know what? I am ok! I survived and my shoulder is still intact with no lasting effects. I am sure my doc or physical therapist would have not really liked the level of pain I pushed through and dealt with but I'm bull headed that way. I needed to feel and experience it so I know when it happens during a race, and it will, that if I block it out I won't be causing further harm. When I wrote my blog entry on Friday morning all was well again. I had some very minor muscle pain in my legs, back and arms. I had no real deep "bad juju" pain in my shoulders and that was a relief. Time to keep pushing.

After my blog update and a few errands I headed out for the grueling 1 mile run. So ok, it wasn't grueling or painful and it hardly felt like even a warm up but hey it was running and it was my required distance for my challenge. Then came the real mental test of the entire challenge. The 41 mile bike ride. 2 hours 45 minutes later I had not just proven to myself I was fit enough to do it, I had proven I still had the mental fortitude for the ride. Long rides on the bike, to me, are more about keeping my mind in the right place than physical effort. I would have quit out of boredom more than physcial pain or fatigue. I didn't set any speed records on this ride but I did it.

The sense of accomplishment when I finished the challenge in less than a 24 hour period was huge. The feeling of fitness when I woke up Saturday morning and was a little tight muscle wise, but not in any major pain anywhere was awesome. The feeling that I have now done some distances and put myself out there far enough in all three disciplines this spring already to KNOW that I can complete my scheduled Half Ironman 70.3 in August is huge. Now that I know the distances aren't an issue I can redouble my training efforts to start working on some semblence of speed at that distance.

My times for the B-Fit Birthday Challenge were;

4 mile swim: 2 hours 38 minutes
1 mile run : 8 minutes 20 seconds
41 mile bike: 2 hours 45 minutes
total : 5 hours 31 minutes 20 seconds

Read more...

Friday, May 9, 2008

Happy Birthday!!!

Yeah its my birthday!!! I made it another year. I feel alive today. Well, I really mean I KNOW I am alive today from the pain, haha. Last night I started my B-Fit Birthday Challenge. I am swimming the first number in my age in miles, running the second number of my age in miles and biking my entire age. This year, unfortunately for me, I turn 41. Last night I swam 4 miles, 6,450 meters. It took me 2 hours and 38 minutes. I had to really gut out the final 500 meters but by that point it was easy not to quit that close to the end. Now today I get to run an easy mile and ride a lazy 41 miles on my bike. (who'd a thought a 41 mile bike ride would feel easy?)

I am taking the pain in my muscles as a great sign that I am alive and living! If you want see more about this challenge and see how you can do you own B-Fit Birthday challenge just click on the graphic below or visit http://www.bfitbday.com

Everyone should do something to make them KNOW they are alive on their next birthday.



Visit raceAthlete B-FitB-Day.com

Read more...

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

And so the season starts.....

Ok, first, I have not fallen of the planet in the past few weeks. I took a much needed break to take my wife to Cancun Mexico and relax. One last week of relaxation before the serious training gets under way. It was beautiful. We got to run in a country we had never been to and we had a great time. Now the real fun begins.

Last Saturday my wife, oldest son and I ran in the inaugural Memorial Healthcare Auxiliary 5k run/walk. I had mixed emotions for this event. Proud parent, proud husband and do I really want to run??? Any of my family and friends who know me can attest to the fact that I just really do not like to run. I know it seems like a dumb way to feel given how much I have to do in triathlon but, for me, it is not as bad when I'm numb from the swim and bike. To give an example I ran a 26:14 5k last Saturday and I will run a 5k at the end of a sprint tri within a minute and a half or so that time. All I will say on the subject is this. Running for me is getting better, not great, but better. It is my weakest link and next winter during my off season I plan on addressing this issue a bit more as I see it as my most limiting factor in racing. Ok, now on to much happier subjects from last Saturday. My wife, the runner in the family, once again took first in her age group. I was about 35 yards behind her for most of the race and as we passed people it was pretty humorous how many gave me grief for being behind. If only they all knew that I am not sure I'll ever beat her. I finally got within touching distance of her with about a half mile to go and, she denies it but, she just turned around smiled at me and promptly left me in the dust. haha, makes a guy feel good!

And now for the best news of the day. My wife may finally have to give up the title of best runner in the family. Our oldest, Ryan, ran his first ever 5k race. He's been running on his own and with me a few times, this spring. I came into the race with him just hoping he'd be able to finish strong. He came into the race hoping for a sub 28 minute run. We both were hugely wrong. I made him run with me at the start just so he wouldn't go out to hard and burn out early. (And I was so proud to be standing on the starting line with him I was almost bursting.) I gave him a few pointers as we started the race. I showed him how to pick his spots to pass and in general passed on my "lame dad" running knowledge on to him as we went. At the half way point I was trying to decide when I would cut him loose to see what he would do. I took one look at his, barely breaking a sweat - not even breathing heavy, face and realized I was seriously holding him back. I told him to go ahead and go and he promptly left me in the dust. I mean he took off like I was standing still. I spent the next mile and a half watching him up ahead extending his lead on me until he finally was out of site. This kid beat me by almost 2 minutes in a mile and a half! He had the biggest smile on his face when I saw him at the finish line. He was the fastest Weaver that day and I am sure for the foreseeable future. On Monday we discussed another 5k coming this weekend and I told him I'd take him. The plan this week is to put him up front with the faster kids and see what he can do. I might have to move to the back with the other proud parents running. We'll be easy to spot, we're the ones floating just off the ground with the huge smiles on our faces finally not really caring how slow we are.

Check back soon. I'll try and get my race schedule a little more finalized this weekend and post on it and my feelings about this season next week.

Read more...

Sunday, March 30, 2008

Saturday Challenge

Have you ever gone to do a workout not really sure you were up to the task? Maybe had a plan which would push you well past your comfort zone or any limits you had passed previously? I did on Saturday.

One of my favorite places to run is a state park about 20 miles from my house called Sleepy Hollow state park. They have this trail that weaves and winds all around the outer edges of the park and is approximately 12 miles long if you go all the way around. I have always enjoyed running different parts of this trail but had never even comprehended the thought of doing the entire loop, until Saturday. Once I set out to train for Steelhead one idea I liked the thought of was building up to run the entire trail at Sleepy Hollow as part of a regular long training run. Saturday I had a free day, the weather was great and I thought why not see how far I can go.

The plan was simple. Set the countdown time on my watch at 10 minutes and run until it goes off. Then walk anywhere from 2-10 minutes (reset the timer if needed) and repeat. Go until I feel like I've gone far enough then turn around and head back or do the whole thing which ever comes first. 30 minutes into the run I was really questioning my sanity. It was a gorgeous spring day here in mid Michigan, mid 40's and sunny as can be. I never thought about the inch of snow we had 2 days earlier and that maybe just possibly the trail would be a slippery, muddy, water filled mess. 30 minutes of slipping and sliding and trying to avoid the large puddles that more closely resembled small ponds and I was tired, sore and my feet were soaked to the bone. I tried to decide whether to turn back or press on. I decided it had to get better at some point or I might at least go numb, so I pressed on. At the 1 hour mark I hit a major stretch of trail that was on the high ground and was awesome to run on. I continued on forgetting how awful the trail had been just yards back. At the 1 hour and 20 minute mark I was back in the slop again and started to seriously question my sanity. At this point I realized I was over half way around and there was pretty much no turning back now. I could, but then I would have to re-traverse all the crappy trail I had been down to this point so I might as well at least finish on, as of yet, unseen crappy trail. Besides it was now closer to continue than turn around.

It was at this point that I began playing the "just make it to some unknown point in the distance" game and I'll reward myself with some walking, or if the trail comes close to the road I'll just hop on there and run that back to the car. I learned, yet again, that I lie to myself just to keep going. Every time I'd get to that point or close to the road, I come up with some even better reason why I should keep going. My walk to run ratio started changing as well. I found I only needed to a couple of minutes of walking to consistently recharge for the next 10 minute run. I kind of got into a rhythm and the great outdoors was flying by. Until about the last mile. That's where I started to notice chafing in places I had never wanted to imagine and the bottoms of my feet were cramping. Not up under the arch but under my HEEL! What the heck, I've never felt THAT before. My legs began to feel like lead weights with every step and I am quite positive my walking was faster than my running at this point. But, like the determined zombie I was, I kept pushing on.

Seeing that end point right where I started was a pretty happy moment for me. I had completed nearly a half marathon of epic proportions, at least in my mind it was anyways. I had run, slid, slogged, walked, fallen, skated, hopped, tight-roped, jumped, slipped and barreled up and down hills, across ridge-lines, through valleys, in fields and through forests all for the fun of it. I challenged myself and found I grew. 2 hours 21 minutes, that is what it took. I had often thought it would be fun to pack a lunch and do the entire trail in a day. I never thought I'd do it in 2 hours and 21 minutes.

Now I can't wait for the next opportunity I get to go try it again. I hope it dries up a bit before then but now I have a personal best time to beat. Oh, and as a side note. Sunday I was a little sore, as I expected, and today I feel much better. Life is good when you can push yourself beyond your limits and don't have to pay with too much pain.

Read more...

Monday, March 24, 2008

Case of the Mondays...

Ok, not really. I'm actually feeling pretty darn upbeat today. I started my morning with an early morning swim, 2800 meters, and that always wakes me up!

On the sad news front, they have extended the voting period for the Team Evotri making the team contest. I have already hit up everyone I know, and lots I don't, to vote and feel like this extra week of voting will only hurt my chances not help them. Such a bummer but it's out of my hands so I'm not going to sweat it.

On the great news front. I am finally feeling much better after dealing with that nasty cold and sinus crap for the past week. Last weeks training turned into a maintenance week just to keep some cardio up while my body kicked this illness. This mornings workout felt great and I have high hopes for the rest of the week. I need to get 2 good weeks in before my wife and I take a much needed vacation to Cancun Mexico for a week. Our last big break before serious training and the racing season starts.

Ok, anyone who hasn't voted for me just send and email to vote@evotri.com with craigtris.blogspot.com as the subject. EVERY vote helps.

Watch the blog this week. I am planning on starting to pick out some of my equipment I like to use and review it as well as update a list of upcoming events.

Here's to a great week for all.

Read more...

Monday, March 17, 2008

Monday 03-17-08

OK a quick recap, have I mentioned I came down with something at the end of last week? Yup, it's still hanging on but once my fever broke, Friday, life got a boat load better. So, needless to say Friday was a wash for working out. Priorities, priorities. Right now the priority is get healthy for a trip my wife and I are taking in a few weeks. This means rest and recuperate. Saturday comes and I felt worlds better. This cold I have been fighting has now moved into my sinuses. This I can live with! I am continuing my Zicam treatments, I firmly believe this has really shortened the duration and intesity of this cold so far. Saturday I decided it was time to start my weekly long run ritual. 6 miles. Not a bad start. I was pretty wiped out afterward but I felt fine on Sunday. Sunday was my last week of basketball leagues. Only 6 guys on the team again so lots of running yet again! Is there something wrong with me when I love that?

Today? stuffed up and tired but not sore. Loving my current fitness level. I think my base is way up already this year. This week will be a maintenance week while I try and kick this cold once and for all then a couple of harder build weeks in prep for a recovery week while gone on vacation.

I'll talk with you all in a couple of days..

Read more...

Thursday, March 13, 2008

A day in the life of an average age grouper

Ok all you age group triathletes out there, here is my recount of what many of us go through on a daily basis just to be able to train. What I am about to talk about is how as age group triathletes our daily lives seemingly work against us getting that all important training in. Today was a prime example of the worst possible obstacles trying to keep me from my training. I truly think how we deal with these obstacles and adapt our training around them is what makes us who we are.

Tuesday nights sleep was spotty at best. We had a sick child come in and wake us up at 3am, which seemed like 2 minutes after I fell asleep. The alarm goes off at 4:45am and there is no way I'm going in early to work out before work this morning. I reset my alarm and get another half hour of sleep before the day begins in earnest. I'm thinking at this point hey a good lunch swim and post work run and I'm back on track. Oh crap!! I forgot I have a lunch meeting at work today. Ok, maybe I can sneak off for a little bit this afternoon after the meeting to swim. No go, it was a busy afternoon in the office. And to top it all off I can feel a cold coming on now. As the day progresses I physically feel worse. I am achy and starting to have chills, although it's hard to tell if the achy is from working out too hard this week. You see I showed up for my basketball league early last Sunday in hopes I could get a little extra running in subbing on another team before my normal game. Oh I got a little extra running alright. Not only did the team I subbed on have only 7 guys, my team for the game right after only had 5 of us show up until we recruited 1 extra player so we could at least get a little break every now and then. Monday morning I felt like someone had used me for a punching bag. And 3 days later I am still sore but it is getting better.

So back to Wednesday. I forced myself to go to the gym after work. Ran a reasonable 3 miles on the dreadmill and swam 1500m. It felt good to get the workout in but by the time I was done, I was feeling physically finished. On my way home from work I forced myself to down a protein shake and an apple. I have officially lost my appetite another bad sign for the cold, but hey this could help with that extra weight I've been trying to drop. : ) Chills, sweating, back and forth all the way home. I stop and pick up some Zicam to try and get this cold under control quickly before it gets worse. Get home, talk with my wife for a few minutes and its off to bed. What a day!

In retrospect I can take the following out of the day. I still made it a priority to get in a workout. I didn't put in quite the distance I wanted in the swim but something was better than nothing. I have learned to adapt my anticipated schedule as the day progresses. Zicam is king!! I went to bed feeling awful. I got up this morning feeling awful, but already I am feeling better. I didn't bring my workout clothes to work today so I wouldn't feel obligated to workout. If I feel up to it tonight I'll hit the trainer for a bit otherwise rest and Zicam will get me through the cold the fastest.

Now this is not an average day in my life but it is a good example of what an age group triathlete can have to deal with. Sound familiar to anyone???

Read more...

Monday, March 10, 2008

Monday 3-10-08

Ugh!!! I realized this morning I should have listened to my wife to change my alarm clock time. But no, I was being a dork about it over the weekend knowing I was having her wake me up so I could go work out this morning before work. Now, let me prefice this by saying that getting up at 4:45am is bad enough. But to roll over and see 3:45am on the clock this morning that was awful!! It was so hard to crawl my butt out of bed and hit the road to the gym. I have to say, nothing like jumping into a cold pool to wake you up in a hurry, lol. And to think I used to hate those 5:30am swim practices in high school. Now I do it by choice.

It was a good 2400m in the pool this morning followed by an easy 2.5 miles at lunch on the treadmill. Not a bad day all in all. The shoulder was a little sore after the swim this morning but feels fine now. It sure feels good to be able start building the swim intensity and distance back up.

Read more...

  © Blogger templates The Professional Template by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP